The Victorian Breeders Awards were held last Thursday night on a warm summers night with the Flemington straight providing the perfect backdrop.

It was a fabulous night to celebrate the Victorian-bred horses, breeders, trainers and owners, while recognising their contributions to a brilliant 2017/18 racing season.

(Racing Photos)

Hosted by the ever-popular Shane Anderson from, it was a relaxed and friendly night enjoyed by all, with delicious canapes on offer, the musical delights of cello player Fergus, and the perfect view for racing or breeding aficionados. Guests were also treated to a special guest, named Dayne Barry, who is a 16 year old aspiring race caller and phantom called the Pakenham VOBIS Gold Bullion.

With the VOBIS awards going to trainer Darren Weir, nominator Hesket Bloodstock, owner Troy Corstens, while Thrillster claimed the VOBIS horse of the year for Rosemont Stud.

And while Redzel ran away with Champion Victorian Racehorse and Champion Victorian Bred Sprinter for his multiple Group winning titles and the Everest, his dam, Millrich was rightly awarded Champion Victorian bred broodmare.

Other breeders and their horses that were also put up in lights included Makybe Stud’s Tony Santic with International Victorian Bred horse for Mr Stunning and smart gallopers Sedanzer, Sopressa, Pure Elation and Enbihaar.

The breeders of tough and consistent galloper Cliff’s Edge, Ross and Brett Holburt were recognised with the Basinghall Farm sponsored Victorian Small Breeder Award.

Meanwhile, Rosemont Farm deservedly took out Champion Breeder after a year jam packed with success, and Woodside Park’s Written Tycoon was no surprise to claim Champion Sire for the third year in a row.

TBV is very grateful to the eleven sponsors of the 2017 Victorian Breeders Awards. We would like to thank the following sponsors, who without them, the night would not have been possible: TAB, Racing Victoria, Avenel Equine, Newmarket Grandwest, International Racehorse Transport (IRT), Basinghall Farm, Equilume, Inglis, Magic Millions and StrideFree Racing.

To view all the action from the night, view the TBV Awards Gallery.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.